capital of Kentucky

Hello readers! Hope you all are doing great. Here we will tell you everything about the capital of Kentucky. Like every state or country has a capital, some way Kentucky also has a capital, which we will discuss below. Kentucky is a state and not a country, officially it is known as the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Kentucky state is located in the Southeastern region of the United States and one of the states of the Upper South region. Kentucky is popular because of its culture, which includes horse racing, bourbon, moonshine, coal, “My Old Kentucky Home” historic state park, college, basketball, Louisville Slugger bats, KCF, and many more. But, here our main focus is the capital of Kentucky. 

What Is The Capital Of Kentucky? 

The capital of Kentucky is Frankfort, which is located along the Kentucky River. It is also the county seat of Franklin County and the main city of the Kentucky Micropolitan Statistical Area. 

The capital of Kentucky state is located 26 miles northwest of Lexington and 50 miles east of Louisville. Together these three cities comprise more than 20% population out of the total Kentucky population. The state capital of Kentucky was founded by General James Wilkison in 1768, the city received its name from the events that took place in the 1780s. Born Americans attacked a group of early European-American frontiersperson who was making salt at a ford in the Kentucky River. During the fight, Stephen Frank was killed, and hence the settlers named the Ford ‘frank’s Ford’. 

After separating from Virginia, Kentucky was admitted into the Union as the 15th state of the United States on 1st June 1792. 

Is Louisville the capital of Kentucky? No, it is not the capital but it is the largest city in Kentucky. Was Louisville ever the capital of Kentucky? Never, in 1904, Frankfort was chosen over Louisville. 

Why is Frankfort the capital of Kentucky? It is because Frankfort is located in the central part of the state. Now, you know what is the capital of Kentucky. Let’s know more about Frankfort.  

When Did Frankfort Became The Capital Of Kentucky? 

Frankfort became the capital of Kentucky in 1792 when Kentucky statehood gained acceptance. Five commissioners were appointed to choose the location for the state capital. The commission was instructed to find the most suitable site that would provide more assistance in constructing the state capital building. Several cities and towns competed for the prestigious honor, but Frankfort won. Let’s know the history of Frankfort. 

  • Earlier, the capital building was burned twice, in 1813 and 1824. 
  • Both times, the larger cities of Louisville and  Lexington tried to capture the seat. Yet, Frankfort was retained because of its central location. 
  • The citizens of Frankfort made a general contribution in 1813 to build a new capital keeping the city as the state’s seat of the government, and the new capital was completed in 1816. 
  • After the 1824 capital fire, a new building was built and was used for eight years. 
  • The new building was constructed in South Frankfort and it began being used in 1920 and had remained the state’s capital. 

Frankfort, The Capital of Kentucky Facts. 

You understood how much struggle was there in the early years of the captaincy. Frankfort and the people of Frankfort have struggled a lot to maintain the capital. Let’s know some facts about the city. 

Area & Population 

The total area of Frankfort is about 39.03 km sq while the total population of the capital is about 27,705 as of 2020. 

Climate & Weather 

In Frankfort, Kentucky, the climate and average weather are year-round, the summers are warm and humid, the winters are short and very cold and wet, and it is partly cloudy all over the year. 

Economy & Finance 

The gross state product of Kentucky in 2019 reached $189.4 billion, with a growth of 1.0% over the 5 years to 2019.  


Basketball is the most important and most played game in Frankfort, Kentucky, it ranked as the most-sponsored sport across Kentucky with 270 schools fielding boy’s teams last year and 268 fielding a girls’ team. 

Places To Visit In Frankfort 

Places to visit in Frankfort are, 

  • Buffalo Trace Distillery 
  • Castle and Key Distillery 
  • Salato Wildlife Education Centre 
  • New Capital Building 
  • Kentucky Historical Society 
  • Rebecca Ruth Candy Tours and Museum.  

On Whatisss You Can Get To Know More Facts Like These.


Is Frankfort Or Lexington The Capital Of Kentucky?

Frankfort, capital (since 1792) of Kentucky, U.S., and seat of Franklin county, located 50 miles (80 km) east of Louisville and 26 miles (42 km) northwest of Lexington. Frankfort was founded in 1786 on the Kentucky River by General James Wilkinson.

Where Was The Original Capital Of Kentucky?


The Old State Capitol, also known as Old Statehouse, was the third capitol of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The building is located in the Kentucky capital city of Frankfort and served as home of the Kentucky General Assembly from 1830 to 1910.

Why Is Frankford The Capital Of Kentucky?

Frankfort became the state capital of Kentucky in 1792 after pledging more manpower toward the construction of a statehouse than any other city. During the Civil War, Frankfort was the only Union capital occupied by Confederate troops.

What Is Kentucky Famous For?

Kentucky is also known for its culture, which includes horse racing, bourbon, moonshine, coal, “My Old Kentucky Home” historic state park, automobile manufacturing, tobacco, bluegrass music, college basketball, Louisville Slugger baseball bats, Kentucky Fried Chicken, and the Kentucky colonel.

What Is Unique About Kentucky?

Kentucky is known as the horse capital of the world.

The place is known as the horse capital of the world, and there are lots of ways you can visit. Our favorite is Horse Country, which puts you right on some of the storied Thoroughbred farms around Lexington.

Is Louisville The Capital Of Kentucky?

Its capital is Frankfort, and its two largest cities are Louisville and Lexington. Its population was approximately 4.5 million in 2020. ‹ The template below (Infobox U.S. state symbols) is being considered for merging.


So, after reading this article you know that the capital of Kentucky state is Frankfort and not Louisville. The kindness capital of Kentucky is La Grange and the Bourbon capital of Kentucky is Bardstown. Kentucky is famous for its Bourbon, and likely nowhere in the state is there more of it than in Bardstown. Also, La Grange is promoted as the “Kindness capital of Kentucky”, and is one of the six small towns featured in the series. So, this was all about the capital of Kentucky.